the wilton line

January 6, 2009

driving on colburn rd. crossing the wilton line listening to ‘Skinny Love’ by Bon Iver almost hit a pickup truck on a sharp bend in the road birchwood trees the milky white of frozen ponds and the deep shadows stretched across the road it’s hard not to wander.

“I tell my love to wreck it all
cut out all the ropes and let me fall
my, my, my, my, my, my, my, my
right in the moment this order’s tall

the sky is “sinatra blue” there’s no one pulling on me the road is open and i’m alone in the womb of my car she plays songs that make me feel greater than this moment and i am singing…

“I told you to be patient
I told you to be fine
I told you to be balanced
I told you to be kind”

“Come on skinny love what happened here
suckle on the hope in light brassiere
my, my, my, my, my, my, my, my
sullen load is full, so slow on the split”

I could have gone deeper swept a bit wider scraped a little harder at the wounds and left a little blood behind

it’s not too late.

“my, my, my, my, my, my, my, my
staring at the sink of blood and crushed vaneer”

I will sink my teeth in next time and make it bleed and everyone will know I was just protecting him

this time.

Leave a Reply

